Commitment to Students & Student Learning

Being a professional educator in today’s society poses many implications. As an individual responsible for the transfer of useful knowledge and skills, I must possess a certain commitment to students and students’ learning. The rationale for this commitmment is explained in a brief excerpt of my Statement of Teaching Philosophy, in which I articulate exactly why I choose to educate:

“Why do I choose to educate? Why should anyone care that I teach? Foremost, it is important to touch on education in itself – its nature and relevance within society. It is my personal conception that education is the transferring of knowledge and ideas to provide children a sense of self-sufficiency and capabilities as a member of a democratic society. However, in order for one to be self-capable in a democracy, a fundamental skill is required – critical, autonomous thinking. With this skill, students not only gain the capacity to critically evaluate and analyze reality as it is presented to them, students are able to internalize external information, expressing ownership of their own knowledge and perspectives. With this internalized knowledge, students can enter democracy and contribute to the benefit of society. Therefore, as both an enrolling member of a Canadian public education system and a future educator, my inherent belief is that every human being, regardless of differences, has the right to critically and autonomously think for themselves. This notion is the product of my understanding of and is analogous to multiple scholarly articles addressing education under different perspectives. From Plato’s The Republic to Richard Feldman’s ‘Thinking, Reasoning, and Education’, the works of these renowned thinkers all commonly emphasize critical thinking for the human mind. Naturally, the rationale and motivation for these philosophers become one – the belief that every individual deserves the right to autonomously think for themselves. This is the internal motivation that perpetuates me to desire to teach, the intrinsic drive that constructs my overall educational goal: the fostering of critical, autonomous thinking.”

Statement of Teaching Philosophy

In short, I teach to empower skills of critical and autonomous thinking towards the youth. Although I lack the professional experience to provide concrete reflections of my teaching philosophy, this is an aspect that will continue to develop as I progress my professional career. In future scenarios, I hope to intergrate issues of social and global justice to allow students to concretely personalize and understand the implications for social issues to students. This idea is further elaborated in my examples of lesson plans, as found in the Educational Planning section of this website.

MULTI_POTLUCK

McFarlane, W. (2012, March 7). [Multicultural Potluck Dinner]. Retrieved December 5, 2014, from http://www.kitimatdaily.ca/go5767a/AN_EVENT_NOT_TO_BE_MISSED_-_MULTICULTURAL_POTLUCK_DINNER

Although my lack of experience hinders my ability to concretely express how I will connect with the community in my learning, this is an aspect that I am constantly developing and planning out. Given that the 21st century Canadian society is a multicultural environment, I plan to intergrate this multiculturalism within my class to increase community interactions. For instance, planning out mock-UN debates, holding multicultural potluck events, and taking time to run through daily global news are all minor activities that can contribute to an increased engagement from parents and the community.

Leave a Reply

